1. Computing

How to Edit Your MySpace IM Settings

By

2 of 2

Update Your MySpace IM Privacy and Sound Settings
MySpace IM
Screenshot Courtesy, Copyright © 2003-2011 Myspace Inc. All Rights Reserved
From the MySpace IM settings, you can now change your options to fit your privacy needs. Another benefit is the ability to disable or enable the sound effects which notify you when you have received a new message.

General MySpace IM Settings
In the first section of the panel, you will find checkboxes for each of these options:

  • Idle Settings: By enabling the checkbox next to this option, users will be able to see when you are active on MySpace IM, and when you have been idle for more than 10 minutes. Keeping this option active is a good idea, as it lets people know whether or not to expect an immediate response to IMs, or whether you may not be able to return messages at the moment.

  • Activity Alerts: This option will allow you to see what your friends are doing on the social network, from posting new pictures to blogging and more. If these alerts are annoying, you can turn them off by unchecking the box for this option. Click "Save Changes" at the bottom of the page or window to save your settings.

Turning Off the Sounds on MySpace IM
Getting tired of hearing the popping noise from your chat window? This is the place to resolve all your MySpace IM sound issues. From here, you can choose to play (or disable) sound effects whenever:

  • you receive a new IM
  • a friend comes online
  • you receive an Activity Alert

Depending on the frequency of these events, you may hear a lot or a little sound. Uncheck any options to disable sounds for that specific event. Click "Save Changes" at the bottom of the page or window to save your settings.

Setting Your MySpace IM Privacy
In the third section of your settings panel, users can choose who can send IMs to them while using chat, including:

  • everyone on MySpace
  • all your IM and MySpace friends
  • only your IM friends
  • .
To disable a particular category of people, uncheck the box. Click "Save Changes" at the bottom of the page or window to save your settings.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.