- Click on the offending contact's name on your buddy list.
- Press the cogwheel icon in the upper right corner of the instant messaging window.
- Select "Go Offline to [Name]."
Once enabled, this contact will not see you as online and will thus be prevented from sending you an instant message. Please note, however, this contact will still be able to send you messages to your Facebook Messages inbox.
Facebook Chat User's Guide
- Where Do I Find Facebook Chat?
- Explore the Facebook Chat Contacts List
- How to Send Facebook Chat Instant Messages
- How to Start a Group Chat on Facebook
- Launch Video Chat on Facebook Chat
- Emoticons Menu on Facebook Chat
- How to Block Someone on Facebook Chat
- How to Block Specific People, Groups on Facebook Chat
- Collapse the Facebook Chat Buddy List
- Access Your Facebook Chat History
- Enable, Disable Facebook Chat Sounds
- How to Delete Your Facebook Chat History